Insurance

So I had a bit of a scare yesterday. We just got new insurance through my husband’s job, which is good. But when I went to pick up my Latuda prescription it was over $1000! I was very confused as I thought my copay was 10%! Turns out, for all appts and prescriptions my copay is 10% AFTER we pay the $3000 deductible. I had no idea this was the case until I went to pick up the prescription. I’ve never had insurance like that before. 

After crying for an hour and thinking I was going to have to quit my meds cold turkey (DO NOT RECOMMEND!), my husband came up with a solution. It still sucks, but it’s better than the alternative. We’ll be opening a credit card that is interest free for 15 months, put the deductible on it and pay a few hundred dollars a month throughout the year. 

While this solution is still frustrating, it’s much better than quitting medications and therapy. It’s fair to say I had a bit of a mental breakdown at first. 

In the end, we’re lucky we can make it work. I sympathize with anyone dealing with the costs of a long term mental or physical illness. 

Leave a Reply

